Tim Thomas Officially Suspended

Tim Thomas (Photo Credit: Steph Phillips)

With any luck this will be the last time we have to write about Tim Thomas on A Cup A Bruin, unless it is to discuss his trade to another team because we’re ready for it to be Tuukka Time in Boston. However, it’s still news and we promised to keep you updated. Today the Boston Bruins organization announced that they have suspended goaltender Tim Thomas for the 2013 season.  Thomas made it clear at the end of the 2o11-2012 season that he did not want to be back in Boston, officially breaking the news on his Facebook page stating:

From the earliest age I can remember, I’ve wanted to be a hockey player. I’ve been blessed in my life to not only be able to live that dream, but to achieve more than I ever thought possible.

The singleminded focus that is necessary to accomplish a dream of this magnitude entails (by necessity) sacrifice in other areas and relationships in life.

At the age of 38, I believe it is time to put my time and energies into those areas and relationships that I have neglected. That is why at this time I feel the most important thing I can do in my life is to reconnect with the three F’s.

Friends, Family, and Faith.

This is what I plan on doing over the course of the next year.

Despite his teammates trying to reach out to him over the past couple of weeks, he has remained true to his word that he will not pull the spoked-B jersey over his head.  Although Thomas has mentioned he is interested in playing next season and it is possible that he could suit up in Boston, the chances are slim.  So, for the 2013 season Thomas’ $5million salary will go against the Bruins salary cap and sit until the end of the season or the Bruins trade him, an act that most likely wouldn’t take place until trade deadlines in April.

In the meantime, it’s time to put all of our faith in 25 year-old net minder Tuukka Rask who’s more than ready to step into the spotlight and show what he’s really made of. It’s Tuukka Time, are you ready?

Leave a comment