Bruins Sign Torey Krug

Welcome to Boston Torey Krug (Credit: Michigan Hockey FB)

So the question is who is Torey Krug? Krug is defenseman who just finished his junior season at Michigan State University, where he was captain for the second straight year. The 20 year old signed an entry level contract with the B’s and will be available for the rest of the season but not for playoffs. As part of the deal, he will remain in Boston and won’t get any time in Providence.

Krug played in 38 games this season and set a career best 12 goals, 22 assists, and 34 points and was named CCHA Player of the Year and 2012 Hobey Baker Award Finalist. Personally I think it’s a great move for the Bruins to get some young players to start to build up for NHL success.

Today Krug joined the team for his first practice in Black and Gold and was eager to get started. Though only 5’9″ and 181 pounds, Krug doesn’t see his size as a disadvantage.

Every time somebody even mentions [my size] I put it in the back of my mind and it serves as motivation to me,” Krug said. “The fact that I finally did sign an NHL contract makes it seem a little bit better, but the minute I become content and satisfied with the fact that I am here, that’s the minute that I’m going to stop getting better and that’s the minute all the naysayers become correct.” (Via NHLBruins)

As for whether Krug will play in any of the remaining games well that’s up to the big man Coach Claude Julien.

“We may give him an opportunity (before the end of the season), depends on how everything goes.”(Via Bruins Twitter).

Tonight’s game against Tampa Krug will be watching from upstairs but there’s still 6 games left to change that.

 

 

 

Leave a comment