More Injuries = More Providence Call Ups

Trent Whitfield is the latest P-Bruin to be called up (Credit: Dinur Blum/ Flickr)

As the Bruins prepare for tomorrow’s match up against the Tampa Bay Lightning, there are many uncertainties as to who will be playing. Aside from 4 players being out of the lineup for a while, there are 4 players currently listed as day to day.

“We’re banged up, we got a lot of questions going into tomorrow,” said Coach Claude Julien after practice in Tampa (Via NHLBruins).

If needed the Bruins have recalled Providence Bruins player Trent Whitfield on an emergency basis. Whitfield, who is captain of the P-Bruins, joined the team for practice in Tampa today.

The 14-year veteran is ready to play if Julien needs him but knows that it will be a game time decision based on the day to day injured players.

The last time Whitfield played for the Bruins was the 2009-2010 season where he played 16 games including the playoffs in Philadelphia.

“He’s been with us before, I thought he was a really good player for us a few years ago when we had a lot of injuries in the playoffs,” Julien said. “He’s got a real good work ethic, he’s got some experience in this league and right now I think that’s what we need.”(Via NHLBruins)

With Providence this season, Whitfield has registered five goals and six assists in 41 games. This is his first trip up to play with the Bruins but he is surrounded by familiar faces in the form of Jordan Caron and Lane MacDermid, his team mates in Providence. Regardless of if he makes the lineup tomorrow, Whitfield is prepared.

“I’ve done it periodically over my 14 years – I’ve been up and down quite a bit,” Whitfield said. “I’ve been there before; I just prepare like I always do, like I’m going to play and if I do great, and if not we’ll see what happens from there.”(Via NHLBruins)

 

Leave a comment